Atlas of Botany: Monocotyledons and Dicotyledons

Atlas of Botany: Monocotyledons and Dicotyledons


There are about 250,000 known species of flowering plants belonging to two taxonomically distinct groups: Monocotyledons and Dicotyledons.
Their names derive from the number of cotyledons or seminal leaves (1 for monocotyledons 2 for dicotyledons).

Differences between Monocotyledons and Dicotyledons (photo

Other distinctive features are:

monocots (54 families):
- Collated or fibrous root system
- Long parallel veins in the leaves
- Petals multiples of three
- Vascular bundles randomly arranged (B - Atactostele)

Central cylinder (photo

Poaceae ovverograminacee (wheat, rice, corn, ..)
Palmaceae (coconut palm, date, ...)
Musaceae (banana tree,….)
Liliaceae (onion, leek, garlic)

dicotiledoni (250 families):
- Taproot root system
- Reticulated veins
- 4 or 5 petals
- Circle vascular bundles (A - Eustele)

Fabaceae (legumes ..)
Solanaceae (tomato, potato, eggplant ...)
Brassicaeae (cabbage, turnip, radish, ...)
Rosaceae (apple tree, plum tree, peach, blueberry….)
Compositae (lettuce, endive, artichokes ...)

Video: Monocots vs Dicots (September 2021).